By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history. An Executive Committee, headed by the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman and composed of key members of the film industry, supervises this annual event.

40th Metro Manila Film Festival
Mainstream Awards Night Winners
December 27, 2014, PICC

Best Picture:

Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo

Second Best Picture:

English Only, Please

Third Best Picture:

Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2

Best Actress:

Jennylyn Mercado (English Only, Please)

Best Actor:

Derek Ramsay (English Only, Please)

Best Director:

Dan Villegas (English Only, Please)

Best Supporting Actress:

Lotlot de Leon (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Supporting Actor:

Joey Marquez (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Child Performer:

Ryzza Mae Dizon (My Big Bossing)

Best Screenplay:

Antoinette Jadaone (English Only, Please)

Best Original Story:

Antoinette Jadaone and Dan Villegas (English Only, Please)

Best Editor:

Marya Ignacio (English Only, Please)

Best Cinematographer:

Carlo Mendoza (Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Production Design:

Erickson Navarro (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Visual Effects:

Mothership (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Sound Engineer:

Wild Sound (Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Musical Score:

Von de Guzman (Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Theme Song:

Gloc 9 (Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Festival Make-up Artist:

(Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Special Awards

Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award:

Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo

FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence:

Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo

Commemorative Award for Vision and Leadership:

Joseph Estrada

Commemorative Award for Vision and Leadership:

MMFF and MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino

Guillermo de Vega Memorial Award (posthumous):

accepted by wife Maria de Vega

Celeb Face of the Night:

Nadine Lustre

Best Float Award:

Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo

Youth Choice Award:

Bonifacio : Ang Unang Pangulo

40th Metro Manila Film Festival
New Wave Awards Night Winners
December 17, 2014, PICC

Full Feature Category

Best Picture:

Magkakabaung (The Coffin Maker)

Special Jury Prize:

M. (Mother's Maiden Name)

Best Director:

Jason Paul Laxamana, Magkakabaung

Best Actor:

Allen Dizon, Makakabaung

Best Supporting Actor:

Kristoffer King, Maratabat (Pride and Honor)

Best Actress:

Zsa Zsa Padilla, M. (Mother's Maiden Name)

Best Supporting Actress:

Gloria Sevilla, M. (Mother's Maiden Name)

Animation Category

Best Picture:

An Maogmang Lugar by Mary Ann Espedido
Ateneo de Naga University

Special Jury Prize:

Cherry by Dustin Uy
Yawp! Studio

Student Short Film Category

Best Picture:

Bundok Chubibo by Karl Glenn Barit
University of the Philippines, Diliman

Special Jury Prize:

Kalaw  by Immy Belle Rempis
Asian Pacific Film Institute

Cinephone Category

1. Balikwas by Cassandra Julianne M. Lim, Elizabeth Seton School

2. Balintanaw (Pagbabalik ng Balintataw) by Chissan Rae M. Balderas, Adamson University

3. Gitara by Gladys A. Rosin, Pag-asa National High School, Legaspi

4. Picture Frame bby Sheena Turqueza, San Beda College Alabang

5. POV (Point of View) by Levi Mae V. Mora, Polytechnic University of the Philippines

6. Saan aabot ang sampung piso mo? by James Allen H. Fajardo, Las Piñas City National Science High School